What is love? Sweet Salty Coffee

Once upon a time, there was a group of friends Neal, Hannah, Victor and Jennifer who crashed at the beach side party. Everyone were enjoying there time near the camp fire, dancing, singing and drinking beers. Life was full of surprises and fun.

While people were enjoying their times, Neal saw a very beautiful angle, he couldn’t move his eyes once he spotted her, She was the prettiest girl in that party. She was so outstanding, many guys were staring at her only. On the other side, Neal was so normal, average body , uncombed hair, geeky attire, in a way invisible to almost everyone, nobody paid any attention to him. However, At the end of the party, with lots of courage and many beers he politely invited her to have coffee with him tomorrow. At first, she was surprised and wanted to ignore him, but due to being polite and the innocence, she couldn’t refuse and agreed to come on a coffee date.  

Next day, Neal was nervous and excited and couldn’t believe that she has agreed to have a coffee with him. But as per the agreed time, she arrived and they both met at the cafe. Neal arrived at the place half and hour early and went to receive her. However, the funny thing was, Neal didn’t know her name. So he was embarrassed to ask her name but didn’t know how to address her during the conversations. 

They both sat in a coffee shop, Neal was too nervous to say anything that made her felt quite uncomfortable. She thought, why did she agree to come on a date? this is turning out to be complete disaster, please, let’s go home. Neal also felt, as It was visible from her face that she was not enjoying this bored date.  

Out of nervousness, Neal suddenly asked the waiter loudly, “Would you please give me some salt? I’d like to put it in my coffee.”

It was a very strange thing to ask so everybody in the cafe stared at him, so strange! His face turned red, but, still, he put the salt in his coffee and drank it.

She laughed and asked him curiously, “Is this a joke?”

“No”, Neal replied.

“Then, why you have this hobby?”, the girl asked.

Neal replied: “When I was a little boy, I was living near the sea, I liked playing in the sea, I could feel the taste of the sea, just like the taste of the salty coffee. Now every time I have the salty coffee, I always think of my childhood, think of my hometown, I miss my hometown so much, I miss my parents who are still living there”.

Even while saying this tears filled his eyes. This made her emotional too. She was deeply touched by the honesty and loving nature of him. 

She thought, that’s his true feeling, from the bottom of his heart. A man who can tell out his homesickness, he must be a man who loves home, cares about home, has responsibility of home. 

This conversation broke the ice between them and made that girl comfortable and then, she also started to speak about her childhood, spoke about her faraway hometown, her family etc. Finally, the date ended in a very happy note, he also knew her name, Pia. 

IT was the beautiful beginning of their story. They continued to date. She found that actually Neal was the man who meets all her demands; he had tolerance, was kind hearted, warm, careful. He was such a good person but she almost missed him if it wasn’t for that salty coffee.

Hence, Thanks to his salty coffee, their story began and just like every beautiful love story, the princess married to the prince, then they were living the happy life. And then, every time she made coffee for him, she put some salt in the coffee, as she knew that’s the way he liked it.

Time went on, year on years passed away and at the age of 72 years Neal passed away peacefully, in natural death. He had a very fulfilling and blissful life with Pia. After 42 years of marriage, he left her a letter which said: “My dearest, please forgive me, forgive my whole life’s lie. This was the only lie I said to you—the salty coffee. Remember the first time we dated? I was so nervous at that time, actually I wanted some sugar, but I said salt It was hard for me to change so I just went ahead.

I never thought that could be the start of our communication! I tried to tell you the truth many times in my life, but I was too afraid to do that, as I have promised not to lie to you for anything.

Now I’m dying, I afraid of nothing so I tell you the truth: I don’t like the salty coffee, what a strange bad taste.. But I have had the salty coffee for my whole life! Since I knew you, I never feel sorry for anything I do for you. Having you with me is my biggest happiness for my whole life. If I can live for the second time, still want to know you and have you for my whole life, even though I have to drink the salty coffee again.

She couldn’t stop crying, knowing how much he loved her. Her tears made the letter totally wet.

Someday, someone asked her, “what’s the taste of salty coffee?” 

“It is sweet.”, She replied. 

Leave a Reply

